top of page

Words of Wisdom from Mrs. Shellie Smith

Updated: Jan 7, 2021

Hello everyone!

Sara Thren here with what I hope to be the first of many "Missionary interviews." I have a set of questions that I will ask different lady missionaries each month. I believe these special ladies have a great deal to teach us. I hope you enjoy this series of articles. :)

Love,

Sara


 

Mrs. Shellie Smith has been a missionary to Scotland for many years. Mrs. Smith continues the ministry begun by her late husband Jeff who passed away there in Scotland several years ago after suffering with brain cancer. I have never met her personally, yet after corresponding with her and reading her prayer updates for several years, I have come to greatly respect and admire this amazing lady.

Mrs. Smith was gracious enough to answer several questions for me and she has also allowed me to share them here with all of you.


 

~What are some things that you did or wished you would have done to spiritually prepare for serving the Lord as a missionary?

Do the things you are already doing now:

-Faithfully reading and studying the Bible.

-Memorizing scripture.

-Praying and meditating on God's Word.

-Studying doctrine.

-Singing and worshipping the Lord with thanksgiving and praise

-Doing evangelism


~What two things would you suggest a girl learn, besides the very basic homemaking skills? -Learning to play the piano is invaluable. -Learn to teach both women and children.


~What is one scripture passage you would suggest for a girl to commit to memory? One would be Psalm 139.


~Who is your favorite Bible character, outside of Jesus Christ? I think I'd pick David. Mainly because he reveals so much of himself in his writings, I feel like I know him. Job has that quality as well. They both knew God on a deeper level through their trials and suffering and wrote with such honesty. I admire Moses. He was so steadfast with the Lord. Daniel was the same. Both of these men were humble and faithful and sold out for the Lord.


~What basic advice would you give a girl such as myself?

Psalm 37:3-7a is the best advice I've ever come across.


~Are there any books you would encourage me to read? -Elisabeth Elliot has a lot of insight (I don't know which book I'd recommend though).

-Spurgeon's Morning and Evening

-Samuel Rutherford's writings. The Loveliness of Christ is my favorite.


 

I am so grateful for the special insight Mrs. Smith has shared with us! I feel it is so important for us to learn as much as we can from these special ladies who have been through so much and displayed such great faith; their strength to CONTINUE truly gives God great glory!

Thank you, Mrs. Smith! May God bless you and your ministry there in Scotland!


 

Do you know any Independent Baptist missionary ladies with Words of Wisdom to share? Let me know! I'm certainly open to suggestions. :)


42 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page